Vi er her [We are here] depicts three young Danish theatre artists, Anna Malzer, Zaki Youssef and Sargun Oshana, who in different ways challenge both the often harsh discourses on migration in Denmark and the inability of the Danish theatre to adequately deal with cultural and ethnic diversity. By adding the voices of Shermin Langhoff of the Gorki Theater in Berlin and scientists such as the Berlin-based professor Naika Foroutan, and by involving leading Danish politicians and press people, the film paints a picture of a Denmark obsessed with the issue of migration; a society that is still to a large degree driven by a desire to move back in time to the pre-migration days of the 50s and 60s, but where a postmigrant reality has nonetheless already established itself and is now promoted even further by a new generation of artists.


Anna Andrea Malzer, Sargun Oshana, Zaki Youssef, Naika Foroutan, Martin Henriksen, Shermin Langhoff, Poul Madsen, Moritz Schramm, Inger Støjberg, Sabrina Vitting-Seerup

Directed by
Hans Christian Post

Produced by
Hans Christian Post, Michael Truckenbrodt

Cinematography by
Uwe Bohrer, Hans Christian Post

Editing by
Karoline Schulz

Sound design by
Helen Neikes

Music by
Ars Sonor, DubRaJah, Lobo Loco, Six Umbrellas, Natal Zaks

Funded by
Southern University Denmark

Festivals and screenings

Teater Grob / Cph. Stage Festival – Copenhagen, Denmark

Kulturmødet på Mors – Mors, Denmark

Teater Momentum – Odense, Denmark